7 Quality Areas of NQF

The 7 Quality Areas of NQF are an essential aspect of the service we provide to our customers

1. Educational program and practice standards:

The educational program and practice is stimulating, engaging and enhances children’s learning and development. In school age care services, the program nurtures the development of life skills and complements children’s experiences, opportunities and relationships at school, at home and in the community.

1.1 The Early Years Learning Framework (or other approved learning framework) informs the development of a program for each child that enhances their learning and development.

1.2 The program for each child takes into account their strengths, capabilities, culture, interests and experiences.

2. Children’s health and safety standards:

Every child’s health and wellbeing is safeguarded and promoted.

2.1 Each child’s health is promoted.

2.2 Healthy eating and physical activity are embedded in the program for children.

2.3 Each child is protected.

3. Physical environments standards:

The physical environment is safe, suitable and provides a rich and diverse range of experiences which promote children’s learning and development.

3.1 The design and location of the premises is appropriate for the operation of a service.

3.2 The environment is inclusive, promotes competence, independent exploration and learning through play.

3.3 The service takes an active role caring for its environment and contributes to a sustainable future.

4. Staffing arrangements standards:

Staffing arrangements create a safe and predictable environment for children and support warm, respectful relationships. Qualified and experienced educators and coordinators encourage children’s active engagement in the learning program. Positive relationships among educators, coordinators and staff contribute to an environment where children feel emotionally safe, secure and happy.

4.1 Staffing arrangements enhance children’s learning and development and ensure their safety and wellbeing.

4.2 Educators, coordinators and staff are respectful and ethical.

5. Relationships with children standards:

Relationships that are responsive, respectful and promote children’s sense of security and belonging free them to explore the environment and engage in learning.

5.1 Respectful and equitable relationships are developed and maintained with each child.

5.2 Each child is supported to build and maintain sensitive and responsive relationships with other children and adults.

6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities standards:

Collaborative relationships with families are fundamental to achieve quality outcomes for children. Community partnerships that focus on active communication, consultation and collaboration also contribute to children’s learning and wellbeing.

6.1 Respectful supportive relationships with families are developed and maintained.

6.2 Families are supported in their parenting role and their values and beliefs about child rearing are respected.

6.3 The service collaborates with other organisations and service providers to enhance children’s learning and wellbeing.

7. Leadership and service management standards:

Effective leadership contributes to sustained quality relationships and environments that facilitate children’s learning and development. Well documented policies and practices that are developed and regularly evaluated in partnership with educators, coordinators, staff and families contribute to the ethical management of the service. There is a focus on continuous improvement.

7.1 Effective leadership promotes a positive organisational culture and builds a professional learning community.

7.2 There is a commitment to continuous improvement.

7.3 Administrative systems enable the effective provision of a quality service.

7.4 Adults working with children and those engaged in management of the service or residing on the premises are fit and proper.